Bruce SorrellKANSAS CITY, Mo. /New York Netwire/ — The Kansas City Chamber Orchestra opens its 27th concert season with “A Summer Serenade,” Aug. 24, 2013 at 8 p.m. in Helzberg Hall at the Kauffman Performing Arts Center in Kansas City, Mo. Music Director Bruce Sorrell will conduct the concert and prelude the performance with a pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.

The Chamber Orchestra is excited to once again welcome Chamber Orchestra favorite Barbara Bishop, who will be soloist in Mozart’s virtuosic and lyric Oboe Concerto. Bishop is Assistant Professor of Oboe at UMKC Conservatory and Associate Principal Oboe with the Kansas City Symphony. She has performed with multiple symphonies and orchestras around the country including the National Repertory Orchestra and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra.

Sorrell mentions about the evening’s music, “Dvorak’s richly vibrant Serenade for Strings is redolent of folk dance and filled with lovely, heart-rending tunes. It is one of my favorite works for string orchestra.”

And, to round out the evening, the orchestra will perform Schumann’s Symphony No. 2., according to Sorrell, “A thrilling masterpiece of the Romantic era, truly one of the most exciting symphonies in the repertoire.” The KCCO will bring the piece “to life with the Chamber Orchestra’s characteristic attention to clear textures, and glowing colors.”

The echo to this concert will be heard in June 2014 when the orchestra plays Dvorak’s “Serenade for Winds,” a piece the orchestra has not performed in well over a decade.

Individual concert tickets for August 24, 2013 range from $15 to $40 with additional senior and student discounts available.

Tickets are on sale now and are available through the Central Ticket Office at 816.235.6222 or online at and .

“Summer Serenade” – Schumann, Dvorak, and Mozart

Saturday, August 24, 2013 – 8 p.m.
Pre-concert talk – 7 p.m.

Helzberg Hall, Kauffman PAC
1601 Broadway, Kansas City, MO
(Reserved Seating)

– Mozart: Oboe Concerto, K 314 – Barbara Bishop, oboe soloist
– Dvorak: Serenade for Strings, Op. 22
– Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61.

The Kansas City Chamber Orchestra is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

NEWS SOURCE: Kansas City Chamber Orchestra :: This press release was issued on behalf of the news source (who is solely responsible for its accuracy) by Send2Press® Newswire, a service of Neotrope®. Original syndication source of this news item: